CDKitchen.com - It's what's cooking online!

Reviews

Return To: Beef Brisket With Barbecue Sauce Recipe


Average Rating: (1 to 5 stars, 5 being the best)
Number of Reviews & Comments: 19
means the visitor just left a comment, not a rated review

Post your own Comment or Review


Easy to fix in large amounts and freeze for later.

Excellent recipe!




This was amazing... my husband and guests loved it. I doubled sauce and marinade as others indicated, and added a total of 1 TB liquid smoke. We chopped everything up and served over baked potatoes with cheese, sour cream, onions, garlic scapes and jalapeno peppers..........WOW! I will definitely be making this many many more times... we were only sad there wasn't more left!

Reviewed By: Guest: BBQ Lover 2012-05-11



I am always looking for new crock pot recipes. This is my first time cooking brisket - followed the directions exactly and it was absolutely delicious. Family, including kids, loved it as well. I am planning on passing this recipe on - thanks so much!

Reviewed By: Guest: Guest123 2012-01-22



Added 1 tbs liquid smoke & some Cattleman's BBQ sauce. Took a huge baked potato, filled it with butter, shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, chopped green onions, over filled it with the brisket and added some chopped jalapenos to the top. It was awesome!

Reviewed By: Guest: Skidude50 2011-11-27



This is the easiest and best sauce! I too added a little worstershire and then carmelized the sauce over beef ribs that had been slow cooked all day. It was really amazing!! And I'm picky!




Oh how I wanted to like this recipe. I followed it exactly but it just wasn't good.

First, the meat had no flavor. It was tender of course, but I've never had tough meat come out of a slow cooker. OK, so no biggie because I figured the "sauce" would give it a flavor boost...

Now for the "sauce". It was way too sweet to use for passing. So I shredded the brisket, added lots of chilli powder and cayanne pepper to balance the sweetness, more garlic, some cumin for smokiness, and KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I took the sauce and poured it over the shredded brisket and mixed it up. My husband then bought some Kaiser rolls from the deli and we loaded the rolls up with the meat. It was still way too sweet for our liking, but at least the beef wasn't rendered inedible.

I didn't want to give this recipe less than 2 stars because there are some good ingredients here. But I really had to change it up so I couldn't even see givingit 3 stars. Next time I'll cut the brown sugar in half and nix the ketchup and butter. I'll also try adding liquid smoke for more of a bbq flavor.

Reviewed By: Guest: APH 2010-07-08



This was excellent! Made the following changes: doubled both cooking marinade and sauce; added 1 tsp liquid smoke to cooking marinade and substitued chili sauce for half of ketchup in sauce recipe. This is a keeper.

Reviewed By: Guest: butkus 2010-04-18



i made this on friday night/saturday. delicious

i added some habanero sauce to the bbq sauce, it gave it a great heat.

thanks




First brisket - excellent results! Used cider vinegar and 1 tsp liquid smoke, as suggested by other reviewers. Shredded after 11 hours, another 1/2 hour back in the cooker. 2.2 lb brisket made four decent sandwiches (on big kaiser rolls) with a little left over. This is a keeper - cannot wait to make it again.

Reviewed By: Guest: AB 2010-03-20



Superb BBQ. Only change we made was to use crushed red peppers because we were out of ground. Worked great & highly recommend this recipe!

Reviewed By: Guest: Anonymous 2010-02-15



Excellent. Served for Christmas dinner. Used Cider Vinegar and liquid smoke also. Used left over sauce as marinade for jerky which I made out of the brisket that didn't fit into the crockpot. Will fix again.

Reviewed By: Guest: Bob Mc 2009-12-27



Wonderful! I added the liquid smoke and and the apple cider vinegar and it really enhanced the flavor! YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY!

Reviewed By: Guest: Anonymous 2009-10-15



This brisket was wonderful! I read the reviews first and added the 1 Tblsp of Liquid Smoke and the Apple Cider Vinegar instead of White Vinegar. I also needed to substitute 1 tsp of Yellow Mustard for the 1/2 tsp of Dry Mustard because I didn't have any in the pantry. I cooked it on high for 6 hours and it was so moist and flavorful. Believe me and everyone else here, the sauce is FANTASTIC! I'm not one for BBQ sauce, but it just took the brisket to a whole new level! I will deffinately keep this one for the recipe book and make it again!

Reviewed By: Guest: Michele 2009-08-07



VERY good recipe. My children like 'sweeter' bbq sauce so I added a couple more T spoons of br sugar. They loved the meal & they're NOT brisket nor crock pot advocates!! I'll do it again & mod the sauce again for a different flav. Potato wedges tossed with canola oil & various spices oven baked were the perfect side (also some fresh broccoli & cauliflower steamed).

Reviewed By: Guest: phillythekid 2009-07-19



I have always smoked my brisket so cooking it in a crock pot is new to me. I cooked in on high for 6 hours and it turned out superb. In fact, it broke apart when I was pulling it out of the crock pot. We opted to chop it and use it for sandwiches. The sauce is perfect and I recommend making a little extra.

Reviewed By: Guest: Topher 2009-07-06



I made this for my family. They loved it. The meat was so tender and juicy. And the sauce was a BIG hit. The only think I did dfferently was too add 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke and used apple cider vinegar vs. white vinegar. Good family mean...and great leftover sandwich food!

Reviewed By: Guest: Rob 2009-05-24



I have never made a beef brisket before. This recipe was awesome. My family loved it. The sauce was the bomb! I will definitely make it again. I added the liquid smoke to it as did another reviewer. It was very good.

Reviewed By: Guest: Anonymous 2009-01-19



My entire family, including a fairly finicky 2 yr. old, LOVED this brisket. I added 1 Tablespoon of Liquid Smoke to the cooking liquid and I used Chili Sauce for about 1/2 of the ketchup in the sauce recipe. It was amazing! You'll want to use this sauce as for all of your BBQing.

Reviewed By: Guest: Anonymous 2008-09-14



My husband and I loved this easy recipe. What makes it is the sauce, hands down one of the best.

Reviewed By: Guest: BrookeMama 2008-06-25


Post your own review!

Advertisement
follow cdkitchen:   subscribe via rss find us on facebook find us on google plus find us on twitter find us on pinterest